A pilgrimage through India and Nepal with Shantum Seth:

Lumbini, Kapilavastu, Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Nalanda, Sarnath, Varanasi, Sravasti, Kushinagar.


Provides information on hotels, temples, and tours in Lumbini, Bodhgaya, Sarnath and Kushinagar.

French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish translations available.


With the support of Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, the Buddhist Circuit Special Train, was launched by Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd., a Mini Ratna Public Sector Undertaking under the Ministry of Railways, Government of India in the year 2007, with the objective of offering a safe, comfortable & reliable tour package for international as well as domestic travelers on the Buddhist Circuit. This is a fully AC train with a capacity of 274 seats comprising of 72 berths in first AC, 138 berths in second AC and 64 berths in third AC.

During its 7 nights / 8 days journey from Delhi it covers important sites such as Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Nalanda, Sarnath, Kushinagar, Lumbini, Shravasti and at the end The Taj Mahal (Agra). The all-inclusive tour package includes train journeys, hotel accommodation, road transport, tour guide services, tour manager services, all meals, travel insurance, security and monument admission fees etc. during the tour. This train has been awarded the coveted National Tourism Award of Excellence by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India in Feb 2009. In the year 2011-12, the train got ISO certification and upgraded with a number of additional facilities and amenities for providing better services to the passengers.



A comprehensive guide to the Path of the Lord Buddha ... An Invitation to submit your pilgrimages stories, pictures etc ... Complete essay on Buddhist Pilgrimage by Bro Chan Khoon San.



The ninth Drona Stupa, which is said to be the site where the last rites of Lord Buddha were performed, has been located at Bhagwanganj village under Masaurih sub-division in Patna district.


An exclusive website providing buddhist tour packages in India, Nepal and Sri Lanka. Also providing a complete information about Buddhist Pilgrimage packages, destinations and the life of the Buddha, His birth place, place of His enlightenment and His teachings.


Part I of this book by Chan Khoon San describes mental aspects of a pilgrimage, and tells about the famous pilgrims of old. Finally, the restoration of the Buddhist shrines and the revival of Buddhism in India are described

Parts II & III of this book trace the history and religious significance of each of the Eight Great Places and the objects of interest that can be found there.

Part IV describes other important shrines along the pilgrimage route that pilgrims should also visit if there is sufficient time.

Part V of this book provides information on travelling around the Buddhist circuit, road distances, maps showing the locations of the shrines and the pilgrimage groups organized by the author.


Exploration on the location of historical Kapilavatthu, the capiltal of Sakyan state.

See also: http://piprahwajewels.co.uk/



A detailed tour of BuddhaGaya, Rajgriha, Nalanda, Sarnath, Shravasti, Sankashya, Kusinagar and Lumbini, by Jeremy Russell.



- Sacred Island - A Pilgrim's Guide to Sri Lanka;

- A Pilgrim's Guide to India;

- The Significance of Pilgrimage;

- The Four Holy Sites (Lumbini, Bodh Gaya, Sarnath, Kusinara).


The site dedicated to Lord Buddha.


The Mahabodhi Mahavihara (more popularly known as the Buddha Gaya Temple or Great Stupa) is one of the shrine out of 84000 shrines erected by King Ashoka the Great in the 3rd century B.C.

Buddhagaya or Bodhgaya, being the seat of Enlightenment of the Buddha, is the holiest of the holiest for the Buddhists of the world.