Theravāda Buddhism Web Directory

- Sacred Island - A Pilgrim's Guide to Sri Lanka;

- A Pilgrim's Guide to India;

- The Significance of Pilgrimage;

- The Four Holy Sites (Lumbini, Bodh Gaya, Sarnath, Kusinara).

The site dedicated to Lord Buddha.


The Mahabodhi Mahavihara (more popularly known as the Buddha Gaya Temple or Great Stupa) is one of the shrine out of 84000 shrines erected by King Ashoka the Great in the 3rd century B.C.

Buddhagaya or Bodhgaya, being the seat of Enlightenment of the Buddha, is the holiest of the holiest for the Buddhists of the world.