Theravāda Buddhism Web Directory

Mon State

Pa-Auk Forest Monastery is a Buddhist monastery in the Theravāda tradition, with emphasis on the teaching and practice of both Samatha (tranquility) and Vipassana (insight) meditation. Situated in a forest along the Taung Nyo Mountain range in Mon State, Myanmar, the monastery provides a conducive setting for the practice of long-term, intensive meditation. Presently, there are over 100 foreign meditators, originating from over 20 countries, residing in the monastery.


Sukhavana Meditation Monastery is a Buddhist monastery in the Theravada Thai Forest Tradition inspired by Venerable Ajahn Mun Bhuridatta and Venerable Ajahn Chah. It is located in the Bercham Cave, Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia.

Sukhavana means "The Mountain Of Happiness " in Pāli, the scriptural language of the ancient Buddhist Canon. Its current abbot is Ajahn Thongbai who's ordained by Luang Por Gunha Sukhagamo.

Sukhavana Meditation Monastery provides opportunity for lay people to practise Buddhist teachings, to develop virtue, generosity, to observe the 5 or 8 precepts, to practice meditation for individual development in the Noble Eightfold Path of Right View, Right Intention, Right Speech, Right Action, Right Livelihood, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness, Right Concentration.

It also provides opportunity to propagate the Buddha Dhamma to society and to take care of the Sangha community.

Barn Tard

Wat Pa Ban Tat was set up by a famous Thai meditation bhikkhu called Venerable Ajahn Maha Bua.


Wat Songdhammakalyani, which means the temple of women who uphold dhamma, was built in 1960 by Ven. Bhikkhuni Ta Tao Fa Tzu (formerly known as Voramai Kabilsingh). Bhikkhuni pioneer, Ven. Bhikkhuni Dhammananda, is the present abbot of Songdhammakalyani Temple.



Wat Suansantidham is located in Sriracha, Chonburi province, about 100 km from central Bangkok… roughly an hour drive. The temple can be reached by car or by free shuttles sponsored by Luangpor Pramote’s followers to make it more convenient as, unfortunately, there is no public transportation that directly reaches the temple. Please scroll further below at the end of this page for the shuttle details and contact persons. These shuttles are only available when a sermon is scheduled at Wat Suansantidham.

Luangpor Pramote’s teachings at the temple are only in Thai. Please see the calendar for his teaching schedule. Volunteer translators can provide live English translations of Luangpor Pramote’s Dhamma talks on the second Saturday of every month, and provide assistance in English afterward. This is by appointment only.


Inspired by Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar, upasaka Ramesh Vitthalrao Bansod founded Jetvan aiming and wishing Dhamma- teaching of the Buddha to spread, and be shared with as many as possible for their own welfare.

Jetvan monastery organizes Vipassana (insight) meditation camps, and Dhamma camps.


Myanmar Buddhist Vihara at Buddha Gaya (Bodh Gaya) is situated on the old road to Gaya, north of the Mahabodhi temple, near the Gaya police station and just beyond the Mahant's palace. In Myanmar Era 1296 (CE 1934), Ashin Nandamalar and Ashin Dhammissara, both from Myanmar, were able to buy a piece of land near Bodh Gaya village, and built Myanmar Temple.


This is a center practicing theravadan teachings in Korea.




We are very fortunate to receive guidance and advices from our spiritual advisors namely the late Bhante Suvanno , Venerable Sayadaw U Kundala and Venerable Sayadaw U Sumana. Currently, the resident bhikkhu is Venerable Sayadaw U Sumana (from January to June) and Venerable Sayadaw U Vimalacarabhivamsa (from July to December)

As a Vipassana Meditation centre, our weekly Vipassana Meditation sessions is held every Wednesday and Saturday night from 7 pm onwards under the guidance of our resident Sayadaws. There will ten-days Vipassana Meditation retreats for experienced yogis.  Besides these retreats, there will be a one-day retreat (8 am to 5 pm) every first and third Sundays of the month. Participants for this day-retreat must observe the attha-sila (Eight Precepts).